Most people don’t know much about auto wreck laws until the day comes when you are affected by them. Sure, you know that California law requires you to carry insurance. You probably know that you’re required by law to maintain registration. However, you might not know the ins and outs of auto wreck laws.
There are many laws, but there are a few that everyone should know. For instance, you should know what the minimum requirements are for insurance. You should know what the law says you should do following a vehicle crash.
Our firm has put together a short list of some of the most important auto crash laws you should know. Hopefully this information will help you if you’re ever in a vehicle collision.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in California
California law requires all drivers to maintain insurance on their vehicles at all times. The law also lists a minimum coverage amount. The following is the minimum amount of coverage you are allowed to have:
- $15,000 worth of coverage for an accident that injures or kills one person.
- $30,000 worth of coverage for an accident that injures or kills more than one person.
- $5,000 for property damage (does not apply to property damage to your own vehicle).
The above coverage applies to people you hurt in an accident. It does not cover injuries to your own person.
Fault and Negligence Laws
California law does care about who caused the accident. This is known as a fault-based system. The person who is at fault can be made to pay for the injuries and damages that occur in an auto wreck. More than one person could be responsible for causing an accident. If that occurs, the fault can be shared among the involved parties.
The injured party can still recoup their losses by going after others involved in an accident. If the injured party was somewhat to blame for the accident, their damages can be reduced.
Time Limitations on Auto Injury Actions
California law provides a time limit of two years to bring an action for a car wreck. A civil action is a claim or lawsuit filed against the person responsible for causing the crash. The clock starts on the date of the accident. If you neglect to file your claim within the designated time limit, you will most likely lose your chance to bring an action for your auto collision.
Talk to a California Auto Injury Attorney
The above information should help if you’re ever hurt in a car crash. If you’ve already been injured in an auto wreck, you might need more than informational assistance; you might need a legal professional to help you with a car wreck claim.
You have the option of calling our firm and talking to a car crash lawyer in a free case consultation. The Law Offices of Gary K. Walch, a Law Corporation can be reached through the online form below or you are welcome to call our office directly at 818-222-3400.
- Practice Areas
- Personal Injury
- Brain Injury
- Car Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Dog Bites
- Wrongful Death
- Pedestrian Accident